Reflections on the SBC Annual Meeting

This past week, I was blessed to be a messenger from my church to the Southern Baptist Convention’s Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX. The meeting conjured up many thoughts in my mind, but much of that has already been addressed here and here. It was a joy for me to be able to spend some uninterrupted time with my fellow elder and all his famous friends.

I’ll just make two comments (my two cents) about the convention:

1. I was convicted about being a Southern Baptist for nearly 10 years now, and this being my first convention. Real direction and business takes place at this meeting and the churches drive those decisions and directions! Churches are represented by messengers, some 8,000 were present. I have done my share of complaining and bemoaning the negative aspects of the SBC, but I never really attempted to be a part of the solution rather than the problem. The greatest example of this, in my opinion came from Mark Dever. He sat there with about 10 of his staff and interns from his church carefully listening and explaining to them the “ins and outs” of every motion and resolution. Dever was probably one of the more articulate persons on the entire room, yet he did not make his way to a microphone. He sat quietly, instructing his students and voting on all the issues. That was inspiring to me! May God raise up an army of pastors like that to influence the future of the SBC!

(Side note: if you read Denny B.’s blog, you’ll see the disappointing results of the resolution on church membership integrity. However, I think you’ll agree that even if the resolution had passed, church discipline and meaningful membership are not going to just “poof” into action. The real change comes when pastors are educated and influenced by healthy churches modeling a biblical ecclesiology.)

2. I was encouraged by Voddie Baucham’s message at the Founders Breakfast on Tuesday morning. His message can be found here. The seven areas of repentance he called for were regenerate church membership, church discipline, biblical exposition, biblical church planting, family discipleship, biblically qualified leadership and Christian education. I had to look around and make sure that I was at the right place (the SBC Annual Meeting?)! Praise God for his words to us!

All in all, it was a great experience, and Lord willing, our church will be bringing more messengers next year in Indianapolis to vote for Dr. Mohler for president!

May God bring revival and renewal to the hearts and minds of Southern Baptists!

Leave a Reply

