It’s Been a Great Year!

Grand CaymanYeah, I know it’s only January 17th, but I’ve already had an amazing 2008! It all began when my wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary on a 7-day Carribean Cruise! Our church suprised us with this amazing gift and we had the time of our lives! You can see pictures and read in our trip journal here, if you’re interested.

I also ran the Chevron Houston Marathon last Sunday, January 13th. Praise God that I finished, although slower than I would have like–about 5 hours and 15 minutes. You can visit the Marathon site to see my triumphant finish, but I must warn you it’s so fast you might have a hard time following it. (: Actually you’ll be able to tell just how much pain I was in if you watch me hobble across th finish line!

Thanks to everyone who prayed that I would finish and not be injured! I’m looking forward to the next 11 months with great anticipation!

This photo is courtesy of my friends Jason Kates and Billy Newhouse. I guess I didn’t look that bad after all!

Travis Running

Tagged ,

17 thoughts on “It’s Been a Great Year!

  1. John Portier says:

    Travis,

    Congratulations on finishing a marathon. A MARATHON!!! That’s so amazing. We’ll have to catch up soon. Maybe instead of coffee we can have dinner together one night this next week or two.

    We have some great news on the “finding a church home” part of our life.

    Hope you are recuperating well right now

  2. John,

    Thanks for the comment man. I’d be happy to meet up sometime soon. Just let me know…

    Travis

  3. B. McNamee says:

    Travis,

    First of all, congrats on finishing the marathon. I understand you didn’t get the time you wanted. I think I can help you. Are you familiar with B-12 or HGH?

    I am an established athletic trainer and have administered dozen of injections over the years. Let me know if I can help.

    -BM-

  4. L. Armstrong says:

    Mr. Cardwell,

    I am done with cycling and I’m set to run my second Boston Marathon this April 21.

    I am looking for an experienced runner to keep me motivated. Are you interested in teaming up? Maybe we could make some cool wristbands for runners. Those things sell like hotcakes.

    Let me know.

    -LA-

  5. Mark Parker says:

    Travis,

    We have had a bad run with some of our past celebrity endorsements. It seems as if all of the stars end up in scandals and we want to continue to maintain a clean image. Are you up for being the face for our next running shoe?

    After looking at that photo we may use your whole body, not just face, too.

    Something to think about.

    Mark

  6. Chuck N. says:

    Travis,

    I am going to be quite busy this year helping Governor Mike Huckabee as he runs for President. That being said I will not be able to promote the “Total Gym” product that has allowed me to stay in shape over the years.

    I came across your blog because I am looking for a reformed, Baptist shepherd that is also committed to fitness. Man, you are who I need.

    Let me know if you are available to shoot a few 30 second commercials.

    Chuck
    <

  7. Travis,

    Listen man. When your family comes over this next summer you are going to have to swim with your shirt on. Those chiseled abs are going to cause all ladies present to stumble. Congrats on the run, though.

    On a side note: Why are so many famous people posting on your blog? I hope that all of this doesn’t go to your head.

    Billy

  8. Dr. Phil says:

    Travis-

    You may have seen me on TV, but if you haven’t I assist people living their lives with clarity and passion. Essentially you and I do the same thing.

    Just this past week I got in trouble trying to assist Britney and I was attacked from every angle. It sounds like Mr. Newhouse is jealous of your success. He has what I call in medical terms an “Antisocial Personality Disorder.”

    Anyhow, keep spreading your wings over those in the Texas area.

    Dr. P

  9. Robin Leach says:

    Hey bloke.

    I see you enjoyed a nice holiday in the Caribbean.

    I am considering starting up another series of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous. You and your bride interested?

    Let me leave you with a quote from Lord Chesterfield: “Never seem wiser, nor more learned, than the people you are with. Wear your learning, like your watch, in a private pocket: and do not merely pull it out and strike it; merely to show that you have one.”

    -RL-

  10. Duane Chapman says:

    As a fellow born-again Christian it is good to see what you do on this blog of yours.

    If you ever need help tracking down a wayward member you make sure you give me a call. Guys like me and you are a dying breed.

    -DC-

  11. James Lemontree says:

    Pride comes from before a fall . . .

    James

  12. That chair you are sitting in produces many comments on blogs. You must be in the right place!

    Thanks for watching our house. Seriously, thanks for your friendship and sacrifice. It is a blessing to call you friend and brother.

  13. Michael Scott says:

    You my friend are a true hero. Based on all these comments you must have good relationships with those you work with. I am an Office Manager and I thought I had that.

    Last week I would’ve given a kidney to anyone in this office. I would’ve reached right into my stomach and pulled it out for them. But now, no. I don’t have the relationship with these people that I thought I did. I hope they ask, so they can hear me say, “Uh, no, I only give my organs to my real friends. Go get yourself a monkey kidney.”

    -Agent Michael Scar-

  14. Hulk Hogan says:

    Heeeeeeeeeeeeey TC.

    Hogan here. Whoo! Hey, buster, we need you on American Gladiators. Yeah, you are who we need. An athletic pastor. Can you put on 25 lbs of muscle before the taping, though? Gotta go. It’s time for me to tan.

    -HH-

  15. Roger C. says:

    I kid you not when I say that I am in a bit of a jam. There have been some serious misrememberings going on in regards to my past PED use.

    You may not know me but I have won 7 Cy-Youngs, two World Series, and appeared in numerous H.E.B. commercials. Do you have some encouragement you could provide me right now? If you don’t have any good encouragement could you at least agree that you’ve known me for the last decade or so and that I am an honest guy who hates steriods?

    Think it over and keep your two boys off the juice.

    -RC-

  16. E. Spitzer says:

    On the cusp of a pretty bad week I could use some encouragement and wisdom. What is this book of Proverbs that you have been blogging about? For the sake of anonymity I won’t go into all the details, but I might have crossed the line a little too far this time. New York is a tough place to keep your nose clean. Okay, I need to stop there in before you figure out who I am.

    On a side note, you know of any governor job openings?

    -ES-

  17. Hillary C. says:

    Hi there Travis!

    I’m running a race of my own right about now… any suggestions on how to finish strong?

    Hillary

Leave a Reply

