A Pastor Swimming in Mercy

It is difficult to articulate the pleasure that it is to be a pastor. I do not understand why God would smile on me in this way. In the mercy of God I have the pleasure to pastor a people that encourage me and continually remind me of God’s grace in my life.

Recently I preached a series on Proverbs chapter 1. This series really was crafted in order to introduce our people to the wealth of riches in the 31 chapters of Proverbs. We were only able to get audio on one of those sermons and you can access it below:

Wisdom’s Rebuke, Proverbs 1:20-33

I also had the particularly rich blessing of preaching on Easter Sunday this year. This is a first for me and I can’t say how grateful I was. It was interesting because the guy who was scheduled to preach had to cancel at the last minute (he had a baby!), so I was close to panic mode in preparing. The Lord is teaching me about my own heart. He tends to shine light on my heart through events like this. My thoughts went something like this: “How can I prepare a sermon in one night?” Usually I spend a week on a text…one night? I’ll translate for you= I am bent toward pride. So, I hope you enjoy the sermon, but more than that, know that I preach as a broken, weak sinner–to others just like me. It is only by God’s grace that something good comes out of it. I hope it will!

Joy and Deliverance in the King, Psalm 22

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “A Pastor Swimming in Mercy

  1. mrd92 says:

    Thank you, TBC, for sharing your heart!

    We are truly blessed to have you leading our church.

    Mike D.

  2. Mike,
    Thank you for your encouragement brother! I’m so thankful for the Denney’s!!

    Travis

Leave a Reply

