Prince Caspian: Reviewed by the Cardwell Kids


This past Friday night, my two oldest children and I went to see the premier of the new addition to Disney’s The Chronicles of Narnia, Prince Caspian. If you are unfamiliar with the Chronicles of Narnia, let me encourage you to purchase the books, written by C.S. Lewis as stories for his grandchildren.

I thought it would be interesting and fun to interview my kids and get their impressions about the movie. So, here we go…

Dad: So, How did you like the movie?

Brayton: “I thought the movie was very good…very cool.”
Caraline: “I liked it…it was really long.”

Dad: What was your favorite part?

Brayton: “When all the bad guys were fighting the good guys.”

Caraline: “When Lucy saw Aslan.”
Dad: What did you not like about it?

Brayton: “I liked it all…even the scary parts.”

Caraline: “The wolf and the weird lady…a little scary”

Dad: What biblical themes did you notice?

Caraline: “The kids couldn’t do anything without Aslan. They couldn’t fight or make up their minds about what to do. This is just like the way that we can’t do anything without God. And the way that Peter wanted to do things for himself instead of for Aslan and Narnia. This shows that we should do all things for the glory of God.”
Dad: Any comparisons with Caspian and the Lord of the Rings? (Really this is a question for me 🙂

Dad: The tree fighting scene and the river washing away the bad guys!
Dad: Would you recommend other 9 and 5 year olds to see this movie?

Dad’s Take: I thought the movie was great. It was inspiring and even breath taking at times. It was a bit more violent that the past movie. So, the battle scenes are a little more realistic and death seems very real. I also agree with Caraline that one part in particular would be scary to little guys.

I also wanted to see more of Aslan. In Caspian he has a little bit of a behind the scenes role (which is part of the problem in the storyline). But he looked great…and bigger than last time! My favorite character was Edmund. He really seemed more heroic and steady in this story. Brayton still liked Peter and Caraline liked Lucy. (We all pretend to be these characters when we play around the house…)

All in all I thought it was great and I’d definitely encourage you to check it out.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Prince Caspian: Reviewed by the Cardwell Kids

  1. […] Prince Caspian: Reviewed by the Cardwell Kids […]

  2. patrick says:

    the makers of Prince Caspian kept to the original story better than i would have expected… i had heard they were going to make it into a silly pure-action flick, but thankfully this was not the case

  3. Yuriy says:

    Mexican prince Caspian of Tijuana was a horrific mistake made by the producer ! I cannot believe Brits ended up putting a Mexican in the main role, lol ! His accent bothered me so much during watching the film, that I just had to pause it and write this. To my amazement, hundreds of people noticed this too and wrote reviews all over the internet. Have a Taco on G-Caspian !

Leave a Reply

