From the Tilt-a-Whirl to the Trellis–Books thus far in 2010

It’s February. I’ve been reading some and wanted to share a couple of thoughts on a couple of books…

1. Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl, N.D. Wilson–Fantastic! You know you’ve read a good book when you’re disappointed when you are finished. I wanted to read more! Wilson is a great writer. This is G.K. Chesterton meets C.S. Lewis with some of my generation’s blunt rhetoric sprinkled in for good measure. This is a fun book to read! (N.D. Wilson’s children’s books are now on my list to read with my 11 year old).

2. Leading on Empty, Wayne Cordeiro–This is a book written by a well known pastor who burned out. He found himself one day crying uncontrollably on the side of the road, due to depression and being overwhelmed by the ministry. I’m not there, but this book is a great resource for pastors, or anyone who needs to get, what Cordeiro calls the 5% of the things in your life that matter most in order. I’ve taken away from this a regular routine of silence and solitude.

3. Lots of Commentaries on Acts–It was sad to put them away…but I’m sure I’ll return to them one day 😦

Currently Reading:

The Trellis and the Vine, Marshall and Payne
100 Cupboards, N.D. Wilson
The Hermeneutical Spiral, Osborne
Lots of Commentaries on Hosea

Leave a Reply

